Southern Epilepsy & EEG Society 2018 Annual Meeting
March 2 - 4, 2018

Tampa, Florida

You can access the updated Southern Epilepsy & EEG Society 2018 Annual Meeting handouts here. You will need to download Adobe Reader® software, if it is not already installed on your computer, to view and print the online presentations.

Presentations are the intellectual property of the author/presenter. Contact them for permission to reprint and/or distribute.


The following individuals do not have relevant financial relationships with commercial interests to disclose.

Adriana Bermeo-Ovalle, MD Robert Knowlton, MD, MSPH
Zeke Campbell, MD Terence Lagerlund, MD, PhD
Melanie Carless, PhD

Cian McCafferty, PhD

Gemma Carvill, PhD

Page Pennell, MD

Angelica Cruz, MD

Elson L. So, MD

Raymond Dingledine, PhD

Charles Akos Szabo, MD

Steven Ellis, MD

Nayme Velez-Ruiz, MD

Anteneh Feyissa, MD

Nakia Wilson, MD
Nicholas Gregg, MD  

The individuals below have disclosed relevant financial relationships with proprietary interests:
Danielle Andrade, MD, MSc, FRCPC has disclosed that she receives speaker honoraria from Eisai.
Elizabeth Gerard, MD has disclosed that she has engaged in contract research for Sunovion (site P.I.) and Sage (site P.I.); she receives speaker fees and travel from UCB China.
Dean K. Naritoku, MD has disclosed that he has intellectual property rights with Southern Illinois University/LivaNova; and receives non-cme service fees from Sunovion and Eisai.
Leonardo Bonilha, MD, PhD has disclosed that he is a consultant for Philips.
Josh Rosenow, MD has disclosed that he is a corporate consultant contract with Boston Scientific Neuromodulation, GLG; corporate research: Boston Scientific, SanBio/Sunovion, SPR
Therapeutics; medical advisory board: Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago; co-investigator on grants from NIH, Brain Research Foundation, NMH Dixon Fund, DoD, NIDDR, VA.

Handouts will remain available online following the meeting. The website will be updated with additional and/or updated presentations as they are received.

Online Syllabus

  • Friday, March 2, 2018
  • Saturday, March 3, 2018
  • Sunday, March 4, 2018
Temporal Encephalocoeles-Always Epileptogenic?
Moderator: Elizabeth Gerard, MD
7:10 pm - 7:15 pm
Leonardo Boniha, MD, PhD
7:15 pm - 7:45 pm
7:45 pm - 8:15 pm
8:15 pm - 8:45 pm
8:45 pm - 9:00 pm
Open Discussion
Epilepsy in Women
Moderator: Elizabeth Gerard, MD
8:00 am - 8:10 am

Elizabeth Gerard, MD
8:10 am - 8:40 am
Epilepsy, Contraception and the Menstrual Cycle
Naymee Velez-Ruiz, MD
8:40 am - 9:10 am
9:10 am - 10:00 am
Epilepsy and Pregnancy
Page Pennell, MD
10:00 am - 10:15 am
Open Discussion
High Density EEG
Moderator: Elson L. So, MD and Terrence Lagerlund, MD, PhD
10:30 am - 10:35 am
Elson L. So, MD
10:35 am - 11:05 am
11:05 am - 11:35 am  
11:35 am - 12:05 pm
Commentary: High Density EEG: How dense does it need to be?
Robert Knowlton, MD, MSPH
12:05 pm - 12:30 pm
Open Discussion
Fellow Symposium
Moderator: Dean Naritoku, MD
1:30 pm - 1:35 pm
Dean Naritoku, MD
1:35 pm - 2:00 pm
Case Presentation
Angelica Cruz, MD
2:00 pm - 2:25 pm
Case Presentation
Steven Ellis, MD
2:25 pm - 2:50 pm
Case Presentation
Nick gregg, MD
2:50 pm - 3:15 pm
Case Presentation
Nakia Wilson, MD
3:15 pm - 3:30 pm
Adult Epilepsy and Genetics
Moderator: Elizabeth Gerard, MD

8:00 am - 8:10 am
Elizabeth Gerard, MD
8:10 am - 8:50 am
Clinical and research genetic testing in adults with epilepsy
Elizabeth Gerard, MD
8:50 am - 9:30 am
Adults with genetic epilepsy: seizures and much more
Danielle Andrade, MD, MSc, FRCPC
9:30 am - 9:45 am
Biomarkers of Epileptogenesis
Moderator: C. Akos Szabo, MD

10:00 am - 10:10 am
C. Akos Szabo, MD
10:10 am - 10:40 am
10:40 am - 11:10 am
11:10 am - 11:40 am
11:40 am - 12:00 pm